news about music about contact
J o h n... W e s l e y... H a r d i n g


beach full of shells
John Wesley Harding
Awake: The New Edition


(remastered reissue with bonus tracks)


buy cdbaby


track listing

1. Good Morning (I Just Woke Up) itunesbuy
2. Your Ghost (Don't Scare Me No More) itunesbuy
3. Window Seat itunesbuy
4. Burn itunesbuy
5. It's All My Fault itunesbuy
6. Sweat Blood Tears and Come itunesbuy
7. Poor Heart itunesbuy
8. Miss Fortune itunesbuy
9. Song I Wrote Myself in the Future itunesbuy
10. Something to Write Home About itunesbuy
11. You're Looking at Me itunesbuy
12. You So & So itunesbuy
13. I'm Staying Here (and I'm Not Buying a Gun) itunesbuy
14. Good Bye (Late O'Clock) itunesbuy
Bonus Tracks:
15. Wooden Overcoat itunesbuy
16. Jackson Cage itunesbuy
17. Punch 'n' Judy itunesbuy
18. I Just Woke Up itunesbuy
19. Wreck on the Highway (Live, with Bruce Springsteen) itunesbuy

Originally released on the now defunct Zero Hour label in 1998, John Wesley Harding’s Awake was reissued by Appleseed in 2001 in remastered form and with five bonus tracks, one of them an exclusive live acoustic duet between Harding and Bruce Springsteen on the Boss’s “Wreck on the Highway” recorded in 1994. There’s also a studio rendition of Springsteen’s “Jackson Cage” among the bonus cuts.

The CD presents “Wes” at his provocative best, performing songs of sharp intelligence, wit and originality. Co-produced by power pop/ artist Chris von Sneidern, Awake: The New Edition includes studio versions of such longtime Harding concert favorites as “Window Seat,” “Burn,” “Something to Write Home About,” and “Miss Fortune.” The latter song was to inspire Harding’s first novel, 2005’s Misfortune, and the formation of the Love Hall Tryst quartet of Harding and friends to record Songs of Misfortune, the subsequent a cappella CD of songs inspired by the book.

Among the guest musicians on Awake are von Sneidern, auxiliary REM multi-instrumentalist Scott McCaughey (and other members of his Young Fresh Fellows and Minus 5 bands), the increasingly popular solo artist Chuck Prophet on lead guitar on three songs, and in-demand session keyboardist Robert Lloyd.



it happened one night

It Happened One Night & It Never Happened At All

love hall tryst

Love Hall Tryst: Songs of Misfortune

trad arr jones

Trad Arr Jones

also appears on:

sowing the seeds

If I Had a Song: The Songs of Pete Seeger Vol 2