news about music about contact
J e s s e...W i n c h e s t e r


modern hymns
Jesse Winchester

A Reasonable Amount of Trouble



buy cdbaby
buy itunes


track listing

1. All That We Have Is Now itunesbuy
2. She Makes It Easy Now itunesbuy
3. Neither Here Nor There itunesbuy
4. Rhythm Of The Rain itunesbuy
5. A Little Louisiana itunesbuy
6. Ghosts itunesbuy
7. Never Forget To Boogie itunesbuy
8. Devil Or Angel itunesbuy
9, Don’t Be Shy itunesbuy
10. Every Day I Get The Blues itunesbuy
11. Whispering Bells itunesbuy
12. Just So Much itunesbuy


Nominated for two Grammy Awards in December 2014 -- "Best Folk Album" and "Best American Roots Song" (for "Just So Much")!

The final studio album by the hit-writing country folk singer-songwriter with the universal touch.

When the Southern singer-songwriter Jesse Winchester passed away in April 2014, a few weeks shy of his 70th birthday, he left behind a legacy of distinctively insightful, gentle, frequently humorous songs about everyday people and their lives that became hits for other performers while he painstakingly crafted new classics to share.

A Reasonable Amount of Trouble’s twelve songs include nine Winchester originals written and recorded while he was in remission from the cancer that eventually returned and claimed him. The new CD contains Jesse’s usual quota of moving, understated, wry and thoughtful songs of life’s transient pleasures (“All That We Have Is Now”), tongue-in-cheek rockers (“Never Forget to Boogie”), and his uneasy peace with his — and everyone’s — eventual fate (the heartwrenching “Just So Much”). A Reasonable Amount of Trouble is tinged with an awareness of mortality but not a drop of self-pity, just unforgettable new compositions plus versions of the sweet oldies he enjoyed so much (“Rhythm of the Rain,” “Devil or Angel,” and “Whispering Bells”).

The new CD was produced by Mac McAnally, who also plays lead guitar (and has performed both functions for Jimmy Buffett, among others, for years). Jesse plays acoustic guitar and keyboard and sings in his uniquely weightless tenor, there’s an attuned rhythm section, and guest appearances by “newgrass” country Grammy winner Jerry Douglas on lap steel and legendary saxophonist Jim Horn, among others. Liner notes are provided by Buffett, an ardent Jesse fan.

For lyrics to Jesse Winchester's original songs on A Reasonable Amount of Trouble (as well as those on his preceding Appleseed release, Love Filling Station, and earlier recordings), please follow this link.






other releases:
Love Filling Station